Universitas Padjadjaran (Unpad) is one of the leading universities located in West Java, Indonesia. After being granted the status of “State University of Legal Entities” (PTN-BH), Unpad has more independence in managing its financial management (by Government Regulation No. 80 of 2014). Unpad is included in the Top 10 Universities in Indonesia (QS University Ranking 2020) and accredited based on BAN-PT Decree No. 608 / SK / BAN-PT / Akred / PT / XII / 2018, recognized as a higher education institution ranked ‘A’, the highest rank in accreditation. Unpad offers a wide range of learning opportunities with leading professors of a wide range of expertise. Unpad equips students, not only with knowledge but also practical experience so that students’ abilities remain relevant in the world of global competition. Unpad also focuses on the formation of students’ lifelong skills that will benefit their future careers.

Faculty of Law Unpad is one of the faculties at The University of Padjadjaran. Faculty of Law Unpad is one of the oldest and leading Faculty of Law in Indonesia. History records that the Faculty of Law Unpad has made many major contributions to the development of the nation and the country, coupled with high-interest figures, making the Faculty of Law Unpad one of the favorite State Universities for legal studies in Indonesia. Faculty of Law Unpad is ranked 2nd for the “teaching category” among the leading universities in Indonesia offering legal education, according to the Times Higher Education World University Rankings for 2022. The Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2022 covers more than 1,600 universities in 99 countries and territories, making it the largest and most diverse university ranking to date. Based on the QS World University Rankings 2021, The Faculty of Law Unpad is also included in the top 5 best Legal Study Programs in Indonesia.

Officially established on September 24, 1957, Indonesian Repubik Government Regulation No. 37 of 1957 on the Establishment of Unpad became the basis of Unpad’s identity began to take part in the world of education. This is manifested in the establishment of the Basic Scientific Pattern (PIP) unpad themed Bina Mulia Law and environment in National Development. In its development, PIP Unpad was actualized in the development of the field of international law and environmental law which became a reference for legal education throughout the Faculty of Law in Indonesia. The establishment of a Clinical Laboratory of Law is also one of the characteristics of the Faculty of Law Unpad which is oriented that the development of legal education must anticipate future changes, such as currently the Faculty of Law has anti-corruption law clinics, criminal law clinics, civil law clinics, and environmental law clinics with a limited number of students, comprehensive deepening of materials, and the involvement of practitioners.

Faculty of Law Unpad has the latest curriculum that is adapted to the policy developments and needs of all relevant stakeholders, such as those regulated by Law No. 12 of 2012 about Higher Education and Presidential Regulation No. 8 of 2012 on the Indonesian National Qualification Framework (KKNI). Law No. 12/2012 mandates the change of Competency-Based Curriculum (KBK) to Higher Education Curriculum (KPT) strengthened by KKNI that higher education graduates must be able to have learning achievements in the form of attitudes and values, knowledge mastery, workability, and competence, and responsibility. Therefore, the Faculty of Law Unpad continuously improves the quality of lecturers and education personnel, as well as educational facilities and infrastructure. Faculty of Law Unpad currently has the following Study Program (Prodi):

  • Bachelor (S1) Study Program in Legal Studies;
  • Master study program (S2) in Legal Studies;
    Master of Notary Study Program (MKn);
  • Doctoral Study Program (S3) legal studies.


Dean of the period:
1957-1962 / 1963-1964

Prof. Dr. Iwa Koesoemasoemantri, S.H.

Dean of the period:

Prof. Soeria Soemantri, drg.

Dean of the period:

Prof. Mr. Usep Ranawidjaja

Dean of the period:
1962-1965 / 1971-1973

Prof. Dr. Mochtar Kusumaatmadja, S.H., LL.M.

Dean of the period:
1966-1968 / 1977-1979

Prof. Dr. Komar Kantaatmadja, S.H., LL.M.

Dean of the period:

Saleh Adiwinata, S.H.

Dean of the period:
1982-1985 / 1985-1988

Prof. Dr. H. R. T. Sri Soematri, S.H.

Dean of the period:
1988-1991 / 1992-1995

Prof. Dr. Sjahran Basah, S.H., CN.

Dean of the period:
1995-1998 / 1998-2002

Prof. Dr. Mieke Komar, S.H., M.CL., CN.

Dean of the period:

Prof. Dr. H. Man S. Sastrawidjaja, S.H., S.U.

Dean of the period:

Prof. Dr. H. Ahmad M. Ramli, S.H., M.H., FCBArb.

Dean of the period:

Prof. Dr. Ida Nurlinda, S.H., M.H.

Dean of the period:

Dr. Sigid Suseno, S.H., M.Hum.

Dean of the period:

Prof. Dr. An An Chandrawulan, S.H., LL.M.